Rise to Your Knees
by Meat Puppets

Reviews for Rise to Your Knees by Meat Puppets
CRITICSCORE based on 18 reviews
Learn more about CRITICSCORES

Album details

US: 17 July 2007 on Anodyne
UK: 23 July 2007 on Side Cho

This self-produced effort is the veteran band’s first album with both Curt and Cris Kirkwood in the lineup since 1995, and their first release of any kind in seven years. All that’s missing is original drummer Derrick Bostrom.

BUY THE CD: Buy from Amazon DOWNLOAD IT: Download from iTunes

The critical consensus

"The focused, yet relaxed, music throughout this album is among the best the band has ever made," says Billboard in a glowing review. While other critics weren’t quite so positive, many found the comeback a solid effort.

CMJ says that longtime fans "will find one memorably cathartic collection of songs here." The Onion labels the album a relative success as far as reunions go, resulting in "a pleasant collection of downplayed, mid-tempo, gently psychedelic Americana." Amazon finds "no surprises," but notes that "the band plays as distinctively and playfully as ever." Pitchfork finds a freshness to the band’s sound stemming from the fact that they had relatively few followers, adding, "Rise to Your Knees strikes a fairly comfortable balance between the spare, spritely Meat Puppets of yore and the more polished and forceful Meat Puppets of the mid-1990s." And the Voice is impressed by the band’s new "jangly, quasi-rootsy, pleasantly sloppy approach."

All Music Guide praises Rise for being "solid and coherent," which, come to think of it, isn’t very high praise at all. They add that "it pales in comparison to the Meat Puppets best music." Mojo labels it "tentative," with only a few standout cuts, while Paste also finds the disc lacking, calling it "a frustratingly muted, often lifeless collection of pretty moments." The Stranger describes the album as "weary," and a negative Robert Christgau, writing in Rolling Stone, sums it up thusly: "Tuneful it ain’t."

Ultimately, this music sounds good when you keep wishing for it to be great.

- All Music Guide

Review roundup

  1. Billboard [21 Jul 2007]
  2. Harp
  1. All Music Guide, 3/5
  2. Amazon.com
  3. Austin Chronicle, 3/5
  4. Aversion, 3/5
  5. Blender [Aug 2007, p.116], 3/5
  6. Boston Globe
  7. CMJ
  8. The Onion AV Club, B
  9. Pitchfork, 6.5/10
  10. Spin [Aug 2007, p.104], 4/5
  11. Village Voice
  1. Mojo [Aug 2007, p.113], 2/5
  2. Paste [Aug 2007, p.60], 2.5/5
  3. The Stranger, 2/5
  4. Under The Radar [#18, p.91], 6/10
  1. Rolling Stone, 1.5/5

Tracklisting and media

  1. Fly Like the Wind
  2. On the Rise
  3. Radio Moth
  4. Tiny Kingdom
  5. Enemy Love Song
  6. Spit
  7. Island
  8. Vultures
  9. Stone Eyes
  10. This Song
  11. New Leaf
  12. Disappear
  13. The Ship
  14. Ice
  15. Light the Fire

Leave the first comment

Note that if this is your first time posting, your comment may be held for review and may not show up on the site immediately.

E-mail It